November 1, 2009

Ikue Mori

Describe your role in, or approach to, recent Dave Douglas projects. Is it more difficult to find space for your style of playing in “jazzy” groups? Does it change the way you play?

Ikue Mori – I sometime get intimidated not by the people I’m playing with but the scene and tradition and rules, so I need a lot of support to overcome my insecurity even though I know I was hired because I could add different layers of sounds to it. via Squids Ear

Tonight –

John Zorn Improv Night Featuring John Medski – Stone
Charlie Hunter/Curtis Fowler/Ben Goldberg/Scott Amendola – Jazz Standard
Tom Harrell Quintet – Village Vanguard
Yves Brouqui Quintet – Smalls
Andy Miline and Dapp Theory – Cornelia Street Cafe

You can also listen to Tom Harrell on NPR when he played the Vanguard  back in April: Here

Leave a Reply

