November 16, 2009

Ethan Iverson Photo viaTunnelfulpower’s Flickr

But when I was young, I followed my ear and heart. There’s a kind of divine intervention that helps. Alan Dawson always said that it was 90% rudiments and 10% divine intervention! That was his philosophy, and it makes a lot of sense. That divine intervention is what I always relied on, and how I was able to create a unique conglomerate of everything, rudiments included. Whenever I sit down to play, I’m quiet for a couple of seconds. Then I ask permission from the ancestors to allow me to do these things that have already been done. – Albert “Tootie” Heath interviewed by Ethan Iverson

Shows:

Ethan Iverson/Albert “Tootie” Heath/Ben Street – Smalls

Dave Liebman/Donny McCaslin – Rosie O’Grady’s

Don Friedman/Martin Wind/Hans Braber/Ack van Rooyen – Smalls

Tony Scherr and Friends – Jalopy

Mingus Orchestra – Jazz Standard

Chuck Loeb (Brian Killeen/Lionel “King” Cordew)

Leave a Reply

